40 years ago

Smile

I was at that game as a freshman student. In addition to the obvious play of Fred Lind I'll never forget a poster before the game that said "Clark+Lewis=Lewis". We weren't called "crazies" in those days but still pretty funny. The students stood for an hour after the game waiting for the players to come out of the locker room. Needless to say the campus rocked that night.Thus began my 40 year love affair with Duke Basketball.

That may have been the most exciting game I ever attended. Everyone in the house was exhausted, not just the players. Thanks for the flashback.

Thanks Jim! March 2, 1968, was one of the happiest days of my youth. I was 8.5 at the time and starting to believe Duke would never beat Carolina again. The triple overtime game restored order to my universe.
    Bob Green

I was a sophomore baseball player and camped under the Duke basket for the OT, marvelled at Freddy's play. The guy was truly in a zone, played out of his mind, threw up (and in) his lefty hook shot over Clark et al without hesitation. The crowd was insane and the "Indoor Stadium" was never louder. A great Duke moment. Thanks for the reminder.

Best Ever Duke vs. UNC Game?

Thanks for the post and GREAT link to Jim Sumner's piece. This particular game really floods back the memories...for my money it's the "best ever" Duke vs. UNC game. Fred Lind with 16 points, 9 rebounds and 3 blocks, scores more in this one unbelievable game than he had in the entire season before. He hits two clutch free throws to force the first OT...buries a 22-footer at the end of the first OT to force a second OT...then rejects Rusty Clark's shot in OT #3 to preserve the victory...then Fred gets what must have been the ride of his life after the game as hundreds of the Crazies carry their friend and hero on their shoulders from Cameron to the West Quad.