Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Smile Letter to Fayetteville Observer

I know I am asking for it by posting this as a thread here but I read alot of great comments in other threads so I want to throw this out to the Duke Fans to get thier feedback and opinions. Oh...and I welcome any BBQ recipes!!

----------------Letter is as Follows------------------------------------
    I am a soldier stationed at Fort Bragg and I subscribe to the Fayetteville Observer. I am from a little town in Kentucky called Elizabethtown. Thus being a native Kentuckian I have developed an affinity for College Basketball. I have been stationed here for almost a year and feel like I am a crusader in an unholy land. In other words I am a Kentucky Wildcat Fan. So why am I informing you of this fact? I just read your article on your field trip to 3 different ACC games in the 20 Jan Edition. I could not let your comment “the folks in Kentucky” “might challenge our dominance” without pointing out a few facts to you so you may enlighten your knowledge of Basketball in Kentucky.
    First I will say that the programs you give such accolades to (UNC and Duke) are great college programs. They are perennial powerhouses in the ACC. They are well coached and receive almost too much media attention from ESPN and the likes of Dick Vitale. I will also concede because it’s the truth that the University of Kentucky does not have a winning record against UNC. With that being said let me drop some knowledge on you:

Kentucky is the winningest college basketball program in the History of the Game. They also have a higher win percentage than UNC and Duke. This is a result of decades of work and excellence in a conference (SEC) that is and has always been comparable or superior to the ACC. UNC ranks #2 on that list. Duke is respectably #4. This list is as of the end of the 2007 season.
    Per NCAA.org: