UPS Averts Strike

It appears our rival UPS has reached an agreement to avert a threatened strike. It had everyone at Fedex Ground on edge for weeks.
    We are already maxing out on our volume, to the extent that at least two days a week are approaching Christmas style numbers. A strike by Big Brown would have forced us to add even more on our people, who are already stressed by the increase of online shopping. As an example, all of our contractors are adding more routes, but many drivers are leaving anyway. People used to getting home around five are finding it tough to finish by seven o'clock now.
    August is my last month on the road. I am a driver supervisor, but still run a small route in downtown King. After August, all I will be doing is getting drivers out the door and taking care of company issues, then heading home by eight. Really looking forward to it..lol
    We are just thankful an agreement was reached by our rival, because it could have been devastating for all involved, especially online shoppers. There is talk around that we are going on a six day work week. If that happens, I can promise you we will lose more drivers. I have brought the subject up to my people, and only one of the twelve said they might do it. Everyone else said no way, and I can understand that. The stress today in this business is enormous, and the only way it will improve is to add more routes and more package handlers, which is harder than it appears on the surface. We cannot hire just anyone off the streets, applicants must have an impeccable criminal record, driving experience, and be able to pass a DOT physical.

Quote Originally Posted by Devilwin View Post
    We cannot hire just anyone off the streets,
    Time to send in the drones!