Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

For the professors in DBR-land...or others wanting a chuckle

I am now a professor at St. John's University in NY (as I have noted in the past).

As the Fall classes have ended (and finals are over the next two weeks), I was reviewing the class "grade center" on Blackboard to generate "gentle" reminders for those students who had not turned in assignments.

Here's the response from one student:

"I am so so sorry that I submitted the Assignment 1 and mid-term paper late because I was fascinated by the 2016 American election in previous months (This is my first year in the United States and also the first time to watch the election) and I spent too much time and energy on this event."

You can't make this up. My chair told me that this was a first for her. Luckily, you would only see this once every four years, and possibly only when we have an election as fascinating as the past one.

Has anyone had "funny" excuses thrown at them? (I suspect so...)

Insert legend of Bonkistry here.
    Among the best academic excuse stories gone wrong ever.

The dog ate it.

Quote Originally Posted by fuse View Post
    Which tire?

Quote Originally Posted by Indoor66 View Post
    The dog ate it.
    21st century version: The computer ate it.

"I wasn't sleeping; that was just a long blink."

My senior year of undergrad I was working on a programming assignment with a partner. We turned in assignments by pushing our files to a server. Our assignment was due at midnight and I pushed an update at about 9pm, but we weren't done. I was waiting for my partner to send me his last update so I could combine it with mine and finish. My computer crashed (hard drive just completely gave up) at about 11:35 and I wasn't able to turn in the finished assignment. Professor didn't believe me even after I showed him a receipt from the computer shop where I got my new hard drive and cloned the old one.

Sad times.

Quote Originally Posted by luburch View Post