View Poll Results: Should Stephen Glass get a law license?

Voters
14. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes.

3 21.43%
  • No, he fouled his nest forever

9 64.29%
  • Give him more time to prove himself

2 14.29%

Should Stephen Glass get a law license?

Fabulist Stephen Glass, the dude who who authored a bunch of fraudulent stories for New Republic back in 1996 and after, later went to law school and is trying to gain admission to the California Bar after having run into earlier problems with the New York Bar. This SF Chron story describes it well.

I am not very sympathetic to his effort his efforts. What do you guys think?

Yes.

No.

Give him more time to prove himself.

Hell, No

The fact that he has chosen a profession where "truth" is the cornerstone is revealing in itself and seem like a continuation of his pathology. I wouldn't vote to admit him to the Bar (I am not a lawyer). He should pick another line of work.

sage

This lawyer says "no"

Quote Originally Posted by OldPhiKap View Post
    This lawyer says "no"
    I confirm OPK. Never.

Quote Originally Posted by sagegrouse View Post
    The fact that he has chosen a profession where "truth" is the cornerstone is revealing in itself and seem like a continuation of his pathology. I wouldn't vote to admit him to the Bar (I am not a lawyer). He should pick another line of work.

sage

I have several friends who as are attorneys and they always tell the best lawyer jokes but I have to say that you have an unusually high opinion of the profession.

He committed his "crimes" in his early and mid-20s. It was a long time ago and he has brought forth letters of endorsement from a number of ethical individuals, including 2 judges.

Do his fabrications when he was young make him forever barred from being a lawyer? Doesn't the legal profession believe in rehabilitation and starting over after paying for your crimes?

-Jason "I don't feel strongly about any of this, but I do believe in forgiveness" Evans