Cool Legal question about copyrights...

Now that my book is almost done, I'm starting to research publication. If I'm sending my manuscript out to publishers, do I need to get it copyrighted myself?

Thanks...

You can, but it's not necessary to. Just mail yourself a copy and keep it unopened so the postmark will let you know when it was created, and then send it to a publisher.

I'm not entirely sure of copyright law, but techinically, your manuscript is copyrighted the moment you created it. Getting a copyright for it will help you try to recover some money for it, but it is unlikely you will recover any monetary damages for an unpublished manuscript.
    Check out the Duke Basketball Roundup!

2003-2004 HLM
    Duke | Mirecourt | Detroit| The U | USA

Technically, when you wrote it, it is copyrighted (caveat--I'm not a lawyer, but I've written several books, patented a game, and have an excellent copyright attorney who specializes in this kind of stuff). I always put a footer in my manuscript with the copyright symbol and date and name before I send it out. Mail yourself a copy (keep it sealed and the postmark intact) in case you need to go to court. There is a copyright application form on the web, but if you find someone who buys the rights to your book, they will put the copyright in their name. If I remember correctly, the big difference is that if you have filed with the USCopyright office and you have to sue, you can recover court costs. Hope this helps.

Quote Originally Posted by blazindw View Post
    You can, but it's not necessary to. Just mail yourself a copy and keep it unopened so the postmark will let you know when it was created, and then send it to a publisher.
    I can't cite any sources, but in my Intellectual Properties class at Duke, we were told that this is not a fool-proof way, and not recommended. also, IANAL