PDA

View Full Version : I like applesauce.

sue71, esq
06-19-2008, 11:13 PM
Natural, unsweetened. I even make it from scratch sometimes. Mmmm, good. Actually good to fill a sweet craving (whodathunk?).

Just thought I'd share.

OZZIE4DUKE
06-20-2008, 12:04 AM
I like it too. Grew up eating Mott's, but most of them are good.

First time I went to Bullock's as a freshman, I had hush puppies for the first time. I always thought they needed "something". I tried butter, I salted them, I tried ketchup. But when I dipped them into the applesauce I'd gotten as a side dish, I knew I had found the perfect condiment for puppies! I got lots of strange looks when I dipped 'em, but don't knock it until you try it.

2535Miles
06-20-2008, 12:14 AM
Mmmmmm. I love applesauce. One of my favorite comfort meals: pork chops, apple sauce, and green beans. Oh, and Guinness.

sue71, esq
06-20-2008, 01:50 AM
I prefer to have applesauce with my latkes*, as opposed to sour cream (blech, but that's probably another thread).

*Latkes = Jewish potato pancakes often eaten at Hanukkah, however I find them to be tasty year round.

dukemomLA
06-20-2008, 02:13 AM
No one should ever eat pork chops, stuffed chops, pork loin, pork roast, etc. without applesauce. That would be a sin.

Trader Joe's has a wonderful unsweetened applesauce. YUM. Actually had applesauce tonight with my homemade BBQ spareribs. (...uh, I didn't make the ribs, just the sauce)

2535Miles
06-20-2008, 03:11 AM
No one should ever eat pork chops, stuffed chops, pork loin, pork roast, etc. without applesauce. That would be a sin.

Trader Joe's has a wonderful unsweetened applesauce. YUM. Actually had applesauce tonight with my homemade BBQ spareribs. (...uh, I didn't make the ribs, just the sauce)
Unsweetened is the way to go. Shake a little cinnamon and a dash o' salt on top and you're in heaven. Pork chops are on the menu for this weekend!

OZZIE4DUKE
06-20-2008, 07:52 AM
I prefer to have applesauce with my latkes*