PDA

View Full Version : Coach K will let Duke pick his successor

Bluedawg
06-18-2008, 08:15 AM
"I hope that I have some input into it," Krzyzewski said. "That's a decision a university makes, and a university should only make it. No one should be able to name their own successor. Maybe if you own your company or whatever ... but I should not have the right. It's not even the right. It's not a position I should be in, though I should give a lot of input."

http://www.newsobserver.com/sports/college/duke/story/1111946.html

I hope he has input also.

Inonehand
06-18-2008, 08:35 AM
Certainly he should have some input but it would be a ridiculous decision to allow him to pick the next coach anyway. I think the obvious was simply stated. I also found his comment about the next coach should have played or coached at Duke a little odd. As a Duke grad, I like it in theory. However, I do not believe that is a necessity. K had zero Duke ties when he came here and I believe the results speak for themselves.

OZZIE4DUKE
06-18-2008, 09:03 AM
Certainly he should have some input but it would be a ridiculous decision to allow him to pick the next coach anyway. I think the obvious was simply stated. I also found his comment about the next coach should have played or coached at Duke a little odd. As a Duke grad, I like it in theory. However, I do not believe that is a necessity. K had zero Duke ties when he came here and I believe the results speak for themselves.

If you were buying a young horse, would you rather buy an offspring of Big Red or Big Brown?

OK, that's apples and oranges, but in this case, when the time comes (in 10 years or so, hopefully), we'll have enough guys with head coaching experience (and hopefully success) to choose from, if they want the job.

I usually don't participate in these speculation threads because, since I wasn't hired as AD, I don't have any input and there is no point.

Inonehand
06-18-2008, 10:03 AM