PDA

View Full Version : We vs Duke

The1Bluedevil
04-07-2008, 12:52 AM
My friends and I have this argument all the time about when it is ok do say we when referring to a team. I’m one that believes that if a person does not know any of the players, coaches, give money to the school or gone to that school saying we is ridiculous.

When do you think we is appropriate to use?

JBDuke
04-07-2008, 02:37 AM
My friends and I have this argument all the time about when it is ok do say we when referring to a team. I’m one that believes that if a person does not know any of the players, coaches, give money to the school or gone to that school saying we is ridiculous.

Given that I was a student at Duke, went to all the basketball games when I was there, and was called, as part of the student support, the "sixth man", I feel entitled to say "we", and usually do so.

Bob Green
04-07-2008, 02:47 AM
I routinely say "we" when discussing Duke basketball. I am not a Duke graduate, do not know any of the players, coaches, do not donate money, etc...but I have been a fan since the 60s.

Lulu
04-07-2008, 04:53 AM
This is ridiculous. Anytime you share a common goal with those around you it's natural to say "we" in this context. I dare suggest that a message board is such a place. So I guess professional sports fans should never say "we"??? unless you're counting buying tickets as donating money.

Seems that someone must have judged someone else as less-than-worthy, and when they dared to use "we" that someone felt insulted.

Fans are part of "we", and I've got no problem with it. In fact, I suppose I have exactly the opposite of a problem with it.

nyr484
04-07-2008, 05:55 AM
In the words of the Sports Guy Bill Simmons' 20 Rules for Being A Sports Fan: