PDA

View Full Version : Ribbons

joe2010
03-09-2008, 12:09 AM
Hi, I'm a Carolina student and have lurked DBR for about 2 months and just recently registered, this is my first post. First off I want to say that I really have come to enjoy reading this message board even though I am a member of IC premium, and you all have given me a higher opinion of Duke fans in general. Though I may not always, or often, agree with some of the subjective opinions on here :)

I also want to thank you for the respect you have shown regarding Eve Carson. I had met her once during her campaign and had seen her around innumerable times, and while I cannot say I knew her terribly well, all the kind things being said about her seemed evident from my brief interactions with her, and that is why her loss is affecting me more than just about any other death I can remember. The moment of silence and the blue ribbons were very classy and respectful and I have come to expect no less from Duke University.

That said, I was confused that K and staff were not wearing the same ribbons. I was not sure if this was because they declined to wear them or not, if that was the case I cannot figure out a reason why they wouldn't wear them (after all, K wore a gold tie for Skip @ WF). I'm hoping that there was a mistake and they simply ran out of them before someone thought to send a few to the coaching staff, and it was not a decision made by K.

Any ideas as to why they wouldn't?

zingit
03-09-2008, 12:20 AM
I don't have an answer to your question as to why they weren't wearing a ribbon, but I do know that Coach K was very emphatic at last night's meeting with the Crazies how important it was to be respectful tonight (even telling us not to chant "Go to Hell, Carolina"), so I know for certain that there was no intentional disrespect there.