PDA

View Full Version : Dribble drive motion?

wiscodevil
02-20-2008, 01:45 PM
Anyone read this week's SI article on the offense Memphis uses? Thoughts? Is this something similar to what Duke has been doing this year? I know Coach K favors a less structured offense - allowing players to create mismatches and their own shots and seems to prefer driving to the hoop and kicking out, but we also employ a lot of screens, which it sounds like the Memphis offense doesn't.

Any thoughts?

bird
02-20-2008, 02:04 PM
I am no expert . . . but is seems to me that the No. 1 option of our penetrations is a kick to the corners for a three pointer, while the offense described in the SI article seems to emphasize a pass to a post player.

We are not screening as much as we have in past years, but we continue to screen. It seemed like every offensive set during the Jason Williams era started with a high screen at the top of the circle. This year's screening appears to be a bit hurried and half-hearted, more designed to create a bit of confusion rather than actual pick. And we don't do it as much.

This year's offense does depend on creativity off the dribble, much like the the offense described. Which is interesting, in that while we have a number of very good dribblers (including, I would say, Paulus), I would say the only one approaching brilliance is Nolan. I also note that Jumbo has had comments on the failure to use Jon's creativity off the dribble, given that he often ends up in the corner waiting for the kick.

TwoDukeTattoos
02-20-2008, 02:15 PM
I am no expert . . . but is seems to me that the No. 1 option of our penetrations is a kick to the corners for a three pointer, while the offense described in the SI article seems to emphasize a pass to a post player.