PDA

View Full Version : First Game in Cameron, Suggestions?

RockyMtDevil
02-19-2008, 03:53 PM
This Saturday, I'm fulfilling a bucket list goal of finally watching a Duke game in Cameron, it's quite a dream come true for me honestly and I'm humbled to get the opportunity to do it.

For all those in the know, what should I expect? Are there any pre-game activities to join in on? How early should I arrive for the St. John's game? And most importantly, where are the good BBQ Restaurants?

Any of the DBR readers get together post-game for drinks?

Classof06
02-19-2008, 03:58 PM
I graduated a few years ago, so I don't know any of the pregame stuff to do. But as far as BBQ, you might want to try Bullock's BBQ which isn't too far from Cameron. About a 5 minute drive from campus, if I'm not mistaken.

And I don't know how much Duke gear you have but a lot of fans tend to migrate towards the bookstore in the Bryan Center to get stuff either before or after the game. I know I made a pit stop after the BC game to pick up a few things :)

Devil in the Blue Dress
02-19-2008, 04:47 PM
This Saturday, I'm fulfilling a bucket list goal of finally watching a Duke game in Cameron, it's quite a dream come true for me honestly and I'm humbled to get the opportunity to do it.

For all those in the know, what should I expect? Are there any pre-game activities to join in on? How early should I arrive for the St. John's game? And most importantly, where are the good BBQ Restaurants?

Any of the DBR readers get together post-game for drinks?
I like to get to Cameron as much as an hour early. The warm ups are going on, sometimes interesting things happen during this time period. Being there at least an hour ahead will give you the opportunity to walk around the concourse and look at all the Duke memorabilia before the area becomes too crowded to be able to move about much.