PDA

View Full Version : Duke's "go-to guy"?

Bluedawg
02-19-2008, 02:58 PM
Interesting question brough up in today's Chronicle (http://media.www.dukechronicle.com/media/storage/paper884/news/2008/02/19/Column/Blue-Devils.Still.Need.To.Find.GoTo.Guy.Before.March-3219003.shtml)

The Blue Devils have not orchestrated a successful buzzer-beater or made crucial free throws with the game in the balance. On one occasion, they have had to defend a shot in the final seconds, and we all remember how that turned out-Pittsburgh guard Levance Fields nailed a step-back 3-pointer over the outstretched arms of Dave McClure.

And so two questions remain about this squad in close games: Does it have the mettle to win and does it have the ability to execute?

Who is the "go to" guy?

Classof06
02-19-2008, 03:05 PM
That Chronicle excerpt from Bluedawg is why, even as a student, I never read the student columns about our team. I didn't realize we had to have a buzzer-beater this year to be considered a good team. As far as Levance Fields goes, if that's the shot Pitt needed to beat us then so be it. They were 2-15 from 3-point land before Fields hit that shot. I ain't losin sleep over that. And this team definitely has the mettle to win. They came back from two consecutive 9-point halftime defecits; one on the road and one at home. End of discussion.

I don't think Duke necessarily has a go-to-guy, rather go-to-guys. Demarcus, Gerald, Kyle and Greg have all shown the ability to to hit crucial shots and score on crucial possessions in crucial games. Last time I checked, 4 > 1.

If Duke only had one "go to guy", I'd be willing to bet we'd have more than 2 losses right now.

Cameron
02-19-2008, 03:09 PM
If we need a three-ball or a 15 foot jumper to ice/win the game, I want Greg or Kyle taking it. I trust both, and believe they have the cold-blooded instinct to step up and make it more times than not.