PDA

View Full Version : Post-WF loss Rest of Season Projections

TwoDukeTattoos
02-18-2008, 03:48 PM
I listened to Adam Gold this morning and I don't entirely agree with everything he said. He said that Duke's problems run deeper than simply not playing well at WF (no center, problem with teams that drive the lane, etc). I have been listening to AG for 6 years now and I think he's a Duke-hater (MD alum), although, due to his position in the local media, he isn't able to admit it openly.

My humble assessment: I've been watching Duke hoops for 3 decades and I can't remember a time when Duke or any other team had all 5 starters fouled out during regulation. Some were touch fouls, most were legit - bottom line is that is it's extreme and bizarre and very unlikely to ever happen again.

I think we showed the same lack of toughness that we did when playing Pitt. Not uncommon for mid-Feb for any team. You get on a high, you're playing a bubble team, and you're not as focused as you should be. A recipe for upset.

We're one of the most difficult teams to defend in the country. True, no pure post-presence - but we can always put 5 guys on the floor who can drive, shoot, and pass - and 2-3 are decent at rebounding. And we're deep.

And I've said this all year long - we still have Nolan Smith. I'd love to see more of him. He is a great PG and scorer in the making.

ugadevil
02-18-2008, 03:57 PM
I listened to Adam Gold this morning and I don't entirely agree with everything he said. He said that Duke's problems run deeper than simply not playing well at WF (no center, problem with teams that drive the lane, etc). I have been listening to AG for 6 years now and I think he's a Duke-hater (MD alum), although, due to his position in the local media, he isn't able to admit it openly.