PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here...

BlueDevilJay
01-16-2008, 01:31 PM
Just now found this bulletin board and decided I needed to join (Can't believe its not blocked by my works firewalls).

Have been a lifelong Duke fan with my dad bringing me up that way (since before I could walk as evidenced in old family photos), my first memories of watching Duke come from the 85/86 season during Dawkins and Co's run to the title game only to lose to Louisville and Nervous Pervis. (I still hate Denny Crum :) )

Anyways, glad I seem to have found a good Duke board to post on, and look forward to many conversations on here with all of you.

dukebballcamper90-91
01-16-2008, 01:34 PM
welcome, your Duke story sounds identical to mine, first memories....etc.
This is a cool place.

BlueDevilJay
01-16-2008, 01:37 PM
Thats cool, and thanks for the welcome. I just replied in another thread you had commented in about being at Duke BBall camp the same years you were, according to your screenname.

As for that title game, I remember it like it was yesterday, my dad yelling at Dawkins to "Shoot the **** ball!!!" during the 2nd half, some of Louisville's players sitting on the rim after the game (for some reason that stood out to me as a 9 year old at the time).

elvis14
01-16-2008, 01:40 PM
Just thought I'd say welcome. You might find this forum a bit different than most.....we are actually civil to each other and posts tend to be meaningful :D I love the signal to noise ratio here, something you won't find on too many boards.

SilkyJ
01-16-2008, 01:41 PM
welcome, your Duke story sounds identical to mine, first memories....etc.
This is a cool place.

similar to my first memories too. I wrote one of my essays in my application to Duke about going to the '86 final four as toddler (1.5 yrs old) and chanting "al-a-rie! al-a-rie!" up and down the aisles of the plane. I don't really remember it but ive seen the pictures...

BlueDevilJay
01-16-2008, 01:41 PM