PDA

View Full Version : Breaking Down DeMarcus' Shot

greybeard
11-24-2007, 11:53 AM
I am not a shooting expert but did stay at a holiday Inn Express last night so here goes, and I will give the short, short version:

1. In the Marquette game, I noticed a change in Nelson's foul shooting after the first six, that might be worth mentioning.

2. The change I noticed was that he began allowing a complete breakdown of his right arm in bringing the ball up to shooting position.

3. Ideal shooting position (such rules are always made to be broken) is to create an "L" in the shooting arm. Nelson began creating a "V" and a collapsed "V" at that.

What's the diff? Here's my speculation, unsupported by a single fact:

1. Such a breakdown precludes a meaningful connection between the momentum started by the bigger muscles below pushing into the ground, on the one hand, and the import extension of the shooting arm and ultimate release of the ball, on the other hand.

2. The extension of the arm then becomes more a function of the deliberate firing of flexor muscle in the upper arm, that is, to say, the tricep, and the release of the wrist (pronation) becomes more a function of the deliberate firing of the extensor motion of the forearm muscles.

Why is this a problem? My guess, it makes distance control a complete crap shoot. Those smaller muscles are hair triggered. Trying to deliberately control them is dicy business, especially when you are tired and/or under pressure. Expanding angles in the elbow, and then wrist (the latter is a machine that gives off a tremendous multiplier to the forces already created, not to mention direction) give the shoot tremendous momentum if expansion takes place in proper time.

Allowing the energy created below to create the timing of such expansions gives you your best shot. (Pun intended.) Trying to control them with the hair-triggered muscles in your arm does not.

Just a theory.

Trying

SilkyJ
11-24-2007, 12:18 PM