PDA

View Full Version : Eddie Fogler?

budwom
07-20-2019, 07:15 AM
https://fortune.com/2019/07/19/meet-the-go-to-scout-for-college-basketball-coaches/

Ah, one of my least favorite players and coaches. So how much do I believe that Eddie Fogler played any significant role in the hiring of Capel at Pitt and Beilein at Michigan? Not too friggin' much, that's how much. The "go to" scout? PLEEZE...
Don't see how either needed Fogler's help in the least...of course this is an American tradition...if you can't perform a certain task well (e.g. coaching) become a coaching consultant.

(Decades ago I worked as a banker and watched a marvelously successful inn and restaurant in a resort town get run into the ground by a new owner who went bankrupt...and then became a management consultant for the hospitality industry. A marvelous joke...

p.s. one of the great experiences writing for the Chronicle was watching Eddie dribble the ball off his foot to lose the ACC Tournament back when losing it really mattered. Glorious.

duke74
07-20-2019, 08:32 AM
https://fortune.com/2019/07/19/meet-the-go-to-scout-for-college-basketball-coaches/

Ah, one of my least favorite players and coaches. So how much do I believe that Eddie Fogler played any significant role in the hiring of Capel at Pitt and Beilein at Michigan? Not too friggin' much, that's how much. The "go to" scout? PLEEZE...
Don't see how either needed Fogler's help in the least...of course this is an American tradition...if you can't perform a certain task well (e.g. coaching) become a coaching consultant.

(Decades ago I worked as a banker and watched a marvelously successful inn and restaurant in a resort town get run into the ground by a new owner who went bankrupt...and then became a management consultant for the hospitality industry. A marvelous joke...