PDA

View Full Version : Lessons To Be Learned?

peteandpete
04-02-2019, 06:45 AM
I have an honest question and would appreciate some feedback. I spent 30 years as a public school teacher, coached high school athletes, and consider myself a lifelong learner. Having majored in psychology, I tried to apply knowledge about how we learn to help my students be more successful. Coach K has talked about the importance of relationships in his approach to coaching. My question is related to the changing composition of his teams in the last few years. How does he evaluate his performance? What lessons, if any, are valid from year to year? How does he decide what is more helpful to allow his players to be successful - figuring things out for themselves or giving them a specific play in certain situations, for example. As a teacher, I certainly felt the conflict of addressing required standards with brand new students with different abilities from year to year (but I didn't get to recruit). Evolution and comfort are often uneasy bedfellows and I admire his ability to interact so well with young people as he ages.

weezie
04-02-2019, 07:16 AM
pete, I think you answered your own question. No matter how he's being knocked about by critics, he's got an unshakable faith in his guys and vice versa.

Loyalty, effort and integrity, that's what K sells better than anyone on the college coaching scene. One loss might sting but he won't allow those players to be defined by that loss and he will always, always be standing behind them.

For decades he has told all of us that each team is different, but that the Duke mantle is a heavy one. Each team figures it out as best as they can, some better than others.

johnb
04-02-2019, 08:02 AM