PDA

View Full Version : First visit

UKDukeFan
09-14-2018, 03:06 PM
I've been an avid reader of DBR and a huge Duke MBB fan from the UK for a number of years and booked flights early to Durham in anticipation of watching a game at Cameron with my wife for my 50th birthday. I was dismayed when the ACC schedule was released to see that in our week there, Duke play at both Virginia and Louisville and then play at home against NC state as we fly back (I'm a teacher so have to return to work on the Monday)! So, I have bit the bullet and purchased flights and tickets for the game in Louisville to watch my first ever game, such is my desire to maximise our time in the US.

Can I ask as a Duke fan and a first time couple in Durham what you guys would suggest would be 'musts' e.g. to visit, to eat and to experience?

We are staying at the Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club from 2/9 to 2/16 so any advice would be greatly appreciated!

OldPhiKap
09-14-2018, 03:08 PM
I've been an avid reader of DBR and a huge Duke MBB fan from the UK for a number of years and booked flights early to Durham in anticipation of watching a game at Cameron with my wife for my 50th birthday. I was dismayed when the ACC schedule was released to see that in our week there, Duke play at both Virginia and Louisville and then play at home against NC state as we fly back (I'm a teacher so have to return to work on the Monday)! So, I have bit the bullet and purchased flights and tickets for the game in Louisville to watch my first ever game, such is my desire to maximise our time in the US.

Can I ask as a Duke fan and a first time couple in Durham what you guys would suggest would be 'musts' e.g. to visit, to eat and to experience?

We are staying at the Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club from 2/9 to 2/16 so any advice would be greatly appreciated!

First of all, great to hear from you and hope you have a great stay! The Washington Duke is a great selection.