PDA

View Full Version : Mark Alarie's daughter playing with USA basketball

Daddylawman
07-17-2017, 05:37 PM
https://www.usab.com/news-events/news/2017/07/wu19-exh-1-esp.aspx

Sorry if this has been posted already. If so, I missed it. I graduated in '86 with Mark (and Johnny D., Jay Bilas, David Henderson, and Weldon Williams). I thought I felt old when my daughter graduated college, but this was a reality check. Glad to see the apple didn't fall far - academically or athletically

WillJ
07-17-2017, 06:35 PM
Pretty cool.

FWIW, Mark's daughter will be playing at Princeton next year with DC All-Met Abby Meyers, daughter of Steve Meyers, Duke class of 1983.

Also, my son was playing an AAU game around here and Mark's son was playing in the game after. Mark complimented my son's coach on how hard his team had played and the coach, about 25, said thanks and moved on. I went to our coach and said, basically, "Do you realize that you just got complimented by Mark ****ing Alarie!" "Who's Mark Alarie?" was his reply. It's sad getting old:).

WillJ
07-17-2017, 09:14 PM
was Bill Jackman, who was a nice kid in my limited experience. He transferred back to his homestate University of Nebraska team, where he was a serviceable player. He was a good outside shooter and would be more valuable in today's game. I had his little brother in one of the economics classes I taught at the University of Chicago back in the late 1980s. Little brother was also a nice, smart kid.....seemed athletic, but was only 6'1" or thereabouts.

OldPhiKap
07-17-2017, 09:17 PM
Alarie was one of my favorite players, on what is no doubt my favorite team. Glad to see this.

westwall
07-17-2017, 10:49 PM
https://www.usab.com/news-events/news/2017/07/wu19-exh-1-esp.aspx