PDA

View Full Version : Congrats to Tom Knotts

wavedukefan70s
12-17-2016, 10:09 PM
Former Duke player and assistant coach.he just won his 9th state title as a highschool coach.his team went 15-0 this season.his second title at Dutch fork highschool in irmo (columbia area)sc.i believe he is a great coach and deserved the shout out.
My apologies if this thread is in the wrong forum.

ipatent
12-17-2016, 10:41 PM
Congrats to Mr. Knotts. When did he play for Duke?

wavedukefan70s
12-17-2016, 11:04 PM
You know he may not have he may have just graduated or was a graduate assistant.my memory isnt was it was.either way ill look it up and correct it.either way hes a great coach.graduate assistant i would have bet money that he played.i cant correct it .its locked in.

Mtn.Devil.91.92.01.10.15
12-18-2016, 04:17 AM
He coached my alma mater to seven state championships (long after I graduated). Didn't know he had Duke pedigree.

Indoor66
12-18-2016, 07:53 AM
Could you grace us with notification of what sport we are talking about? What state?

Who, what, when, where and why.

sagegrouse
12-18-2016, 08:43 AM
Could you grace us with notification of what sport we are talking about? What state?

Who, what, when, where and why.

I presume this is HS football.

I also presume he is somehow related to Doug Knotts, one of Bill Murray's top assistants.

Dr. Livingston I. Presume. (What is your full name, Dr. Presume?)

Mtn.Devil.91.92.01.10.15
12-18-2016, 08:59 AM
I can confirm that he coached high school football in Charlotte in the late 90's.

killerleft
12-18-2016, 09:27 AM
Tom Knotts did indeed play and coach at Duke. He was a defensive back and recorded 62 tackles in 1978.

He was the final coach hired by Ted Roof for Roof's first full season as head coach in 2004. His dad and two uncles also lettered at Duke.

http://www.goduke.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=4200&ATCLID=147153

budwom
12-18-2016, 09:56 AM
also terrific in the Andy Griffith show...

killerleft
12-18-2016, 10:11 AM