PDA

View Full Version : What Happens to Early Entry Players?

awhom111
06-02-2016, 12:53 AM
I have been collecting this information for a few years. Usually I put it on the draft thread, but with five years of data now, I think that its own thread might be more useful.

Others forthcoming, but here is 2015:
http://i.imgur.com/jHsfYsl.png

Keep in mind that some early entries are players who have been in school for four years and graduated, in which case starting a pro career, even below the NBA level, might actually be the best choice.

I have highlighted all of the players who had a full NBA salary in green and players who got drafted, but were not in the NBA, in orange.

Out of 46 players, 29 were drafted. 24 got that NBA paycheck. Three were domestic draft and stashed in the D League. Olivier Hanlan was overseas draft and stashed and reportedly made 150-200k. J.P. Tokoto took the minimum contract that the 76ers were obliged to offer him to keep his rights, but ended up cutting him so he made a minimal amount above his D League salary.

3 undrafted players ended up with full NBA season under their belts and 1 more was getting an NBA salary for part of the season. The interesting contrast is between the fates of the Harrisons. The one who drafted was paid D League salary all year while the undrafted one took home an NBA salary for the whole season.

Nobody appeared to wash out of basketball completely, which I guess is a good sign, although some could soon.

I excluded Satnam Singh because nobody seems to ever agree whether he is a domestic early entry or an international early entry.

subzero02
06-02-2016, 01:13 AM
Interesting breakdown... a column that shows the remaining years of eligibility that each player had could be telling as well. I know that would take quite a bit of extra work though.

Skitzle
06-02-2016, 05:26 AM