PDA

View Full Version : Avatar change

Jim3k
12-27-2015, 09:03 PM
In 1961 I was a freshman and saw (on black and white TV) Duke nip Arkansas 7-6 in the Cotton Bowl. When I finally got around to posting an avatar here, I chose the informal pic of the 1961 team celebrating in the Cotton Bowl locker room. It was hard to make out and maybe missed some players anyway.

Almost 55 years later, we have another bowl victory to our credit. In celebration, I have changed my avatar to Ross Martin's 36-yard OT field goal, which became the margin of the Pinstripe victory.

I'm sure the 1961 team is happy that the baton has now been passed.

Turn on the steam, team! Rip 'em up, tear 'em up. Give 'em hell, Duke!

Indoor66
12-27-2015, 09:20 PM
In 1961 I was a freshman and saw (on black and white TV) Duke nip Arkansas 7-6 in the Cotton Bowl. When I finally got around to posting an avatar here, I chose the informal pic of the 1961 team celebrating in the Cotton Bowl locker room. It was hard to make out and maybe missed some players anyway.

Almost 55 years later, we have another bowl victory to our credit. In celebration, I have changed my avatar to Ross Martin's 36-yard OT field goal, which became the margin of the Pinstripe victory.

I'm sure the 1961 team is happy that the baton has now been passed.

Turn on the steam, team! Rip 'em up, tear 'em up. Give 'em hell, Duke!

A worthy and deserved tribute. I am sure the '61 team would agree.

OldPhiKap
12-28-2015, 08:47 AM
Excellent post.

My current avatar is from the great salt plains between El Paso and Carlsbad NM taken last bowl game. Will update to new bowl photo later.

Bowl Champ avatar and NC hoops championship sigs. Good time to be a Duke fan!

left_hook_lacey
12-28-2015, 09:54 AM