PDA

View Full Version : Al's front page article on ACC traditions and SoCon Tournament history

Tom B.
10-06-2015, 11:57 AM
Just finished reading Al's latest article for the DBR, and this snippet caught my eye:

Clemson has had a few notable accomplishments. In 1939, the Tigers won an improbable Southern Conference championship. It was improbable because Clemson shouldn’t have been in the field. In every other season between 1932 and 1953, the Southern Conference limited its tournament field to the top eight teams in the league. For some reason I have not been able to discover, in 1939 the league experimented with an 11-team field. Clemson was one of the three extra teams. The Tigers – led by two-sport All-American Banks McFadden – upset North Carolina in the first round, then knocked off Wake Forest, Davidson and Maryland to win the title.

Like Al, I have no definitive knowledge as to why the SoCon used an 11-team tournament field in 1939. But I can speculate.

At the time (as Al pointed out), the SoCon took the top eight teams for its conference tournament. (Before 1932, the SoCon actually had a 16-team tournament, when the conference was a 23-school behemoth that included several of the modern-day SEC programs.) The problem was that the programs in the league played highly unbalanced schedules -- way more unbalanced than the current ACC. The 1938-39 SoCon -- like the current ACC -- was a 15-team league. And like the current ACC, there was no double round-robin. Unlike the current ACC, the member programs didn't even play the same number of conference games each season.

In the 1938-39 season, Wake Forest (the regular season "champion") played 18 conference games, finishing with a record of 15-3. The remaining league programs all played somewhere between 10 and 16 conference games. The final conference W/L records looked like this:

Team
Record

Wake Forest
15-3

Maryland
8-3

Washington & Lee
8-3

The Citadel
7-3

Davidson
9-7

North Carolina
8-7

N.C. State