PDA

View Full Version : Duke Athletes and Summer School

ChrisP
08-08-2015, 08:42 AM
So, I recently had a UNC-sympathetic friend tell me that she heard (from someone who supposedly is fairly "high up" in UNC's athletics department) that Duke has it's athletes take "easy" summer school classes at NC Central. Further, it was claimed that Duke does this to make it easier on the athletes so that they don't have to do Duke-level coursework during the summer. My friend said she was specifically told that Duke players take classes like "clogging" which, for those you unfamiliar with the culture of Appalachia, is a type of dancing.

Now, I am a 3rd generation Duke graduate and live in the Triangle area and follow Duke sports fairly closely but I certainly don't claim to be "in the know" when it comes to such matters as what kinds of courses our guys take but...I find this claim that Duke kids are going to NC Central to get easy grades to be rather ridiculous. It's not like Duke athletes wouldn't stand out (especially basketball players who, you know, tend to literally stand out due to their above average height) and I simply can't believe that I wouldn't have heard about this practice if, in fact, it was a regular, ongoing thing. I mean, if nothing else, I'm sure pro-UNC and pro-NC State fans would be all over this if the claim had any merit.

And of course, I'm quick to dismiss this claim because it came from someone at UNC who, let's face it, seems completely shameless lately in the way they've handled their own athletic/academic scandal. I myself sought credit for summer school classes taken at SMU as an undergrad and I remember Duke made me jump through a fair amount of hoops back in the day so I'm also finding it hard to believe it would be all that easy to get transfer credits.