PDA

View Full Version : Duke baseball, compared to Vandy and UVa's successes

Reilly
06-19-2015, 07:53 PM
I don't follow college baseball all that much. I believe teams can award 11.7 scholarships or something like that.

Noticed that Vandy and UVa are two of the final four left in the CWS. Southern, academically-oriented schools.

Why is Vandy so good in baseball? Know they've been good for a while (David Price, etc..). And UVa had an infusion of Grisham money into the program, and has the state tuition thing going for it to attract players.

Curious from those in the know how/why Vandy is so good, and what the prospects could be for Duke. Vandy has the SEC going for it (which I gather is strong) but the ACC seems to be no slouch (Virginia, FSU, Miami, NC State).

YmoBeThere
06-19-2015, 08:00 PM
For Vandy, two words: Tim Corbin.

Vandy's success was moderate until he showed up. It all started happening after I graduated from b-school there, so I can't claim any coincidental non-causal relationship.

Reilly
06-19-2015, 08:32 PM
For Vandy, two words: Tim Corbin. ...

Wow -- so they were a doormat and one coach turned it around:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tim_Corbin

Still, it seems it takes so much -- money, culture, coach, something .... thinking of Duke -- long-time interest and culture and geographic interest in hoops, and K's work ethic and commitment and talent as a psychologist ... think of Duke football: administrative commitment (finally), and Cut's wonderfulness, and the seed money from Mr. Brooks and Mr. Pascal ... and Cut ... and Cut ... and Cut ...

jimsumner
06-19-2015, 10:11 PM