PDA

View Full Version : Summer intern housing in DC

BlueTeuf
04-02-2015, 10:14 PM
I'm looking for any ideas/experience.

Our son will need summer housing as an intern in DC from second week of May through mid-August. He won't have a car - and he doesn't have any classmates headed there. I've looked around on the internet and initially was drawn to the GWU/Catholic U/American U's summer housing options - but they open too late and close too early. Price matters - but we've reconciled ourselves to it being more expensive than we expected.

Anybody done this recently - themselves or an offspring?

DST Fan
04-03-2015, 02:35 PM
I have no experience with Washington Intern Student Housing (WISH), but I have noticed the group's office during my travels on Capitol Hill the past few years.

http://internsdc.com/

BlueTeuf
04-03-2015, 05:32 PM
I have no experience with Washington Intern Student Housing (WISH), but I have noticed the group's office during my travels on Capitol Hill the past few years.

http://internsdc.com/

Thanks! We've looked through their website - would love to hear if anybody has any personal experience. They do have a session that covers the window, but the $4,600 for a double has us continuing to look for additional options.

DukeHoo
04-04-2015, 11:06 AM
I live near Washington DC. My advice is to look at Craigslist's house page (http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/search/sub) or to simply ask around if your son knows people in the DC Metro area. There's a regular cycle of students and interns coming and going, so there should be someone looking to sublet an apartment during the summer. The issue is that this is mostly a secondary market, so you're going to poke around.