PDA

View Full Version : Fastest recovery - Anderson is back for UVA

JasonEvans
03-12-2015, 11:34 AM
ESPN saying Justin Anderson will return today for Virginia. Dude had an appendectomy like yesterday (ok, one week ago)! Stunningly fast return.

This is big for Virginia as proof that Anderson is back will allow the NCAA committee to discount the past couple weeks during which the Cavs have looked a little less than what they were with Anderson. Some of the experts have said that if Virginia lost today, it could cost them a #1 seed. I dunno about that, but the interesting thing to watch will be to see how fast Virginia can re-integrate Anderson into what they are doing on both ends of the floor.

-Jason "I'm glad he's back. I want Virginia at full strength representing the ACC in the Big Dance" Evans

bob blue devil
03-12-2015, 11:40 AM
Hopefully they aren't rushing him to influence seeding (assuming rushing could have a negative health impact - I'm no doctor!).

Reisen
03-12-2015, 11:46 AM
If they had lost today AND Anderson had still been out indefinitely, I think it would have cost them the 1 seed. With Anderson back, I think they're safe, even with a loss.

jv001
03-12-2015, 11:46 AM
It still remains to be seen just how much time Anderson gets. I'm thinking he plays sparingly in his first game back because he's probably going to be a little rusty. I'm glad he's back. GoDuke!

Mtn.Devil.91.92.01.10.15
03-12-2015, 12:15 PM
As I mentioned in another thread, a player at my (tiny, insignificant) college was back to playing ball against doctor's advice within a week of his appendectomy. To hear him tell it, the only potential issue was scarring at the site of the surgery.

I don't know what sort of other medical complications there might be, but if it were me in the middle of a special season like UVa is having, scarring on my belly wouldn't keep me out of the game.