PDA

View Full Version : Is UVA The New Duke?

Rich
01-31-2015, 10:48 AM
After reading a bunch of threads and articles, listening to interviews, and posting several comments on this board (and being sporked by people who agree), it occurred to me that UVA may be the "new Duke." I'm a Duke grad, Class of '88 and, coincidentally, my nephew enrolled in UVA this year so on a personal level I wonder whether this is a passing of the torch. UVA takes pride and a commitment to defense that Duke once had. I've said it before on these boards in various threads, but our migration to a younger team caused by the one-and-done era has adversely affected our defensive prowess.

Great Duke teams of the past made a commitment to defense. But more than that, IMO Coach K's system requires not only talent and "smart" players, but an understanding of the game and communication that comes with time in the system (aka upperclassmen). Even when we started underclassman, they were not expected to carry the defense load and were playing with more experienced players who knew and taught the system, both during the game and in practice. That's no longer the case. Teams no longer fear Duke's defense. Even more than that, over the last several years our defense has become soft, less imposing, and easily picked apart. Remember those games when we would get into passing lanes, force our opponent to start their offense outside the three point arc, and disrupt the flow with our quickness? That's no longer the case, partially due to rules changes, but also because we lack experience and the communication required to be a defensive juggernaut.