PDA

View Full Version : Watching the ACC Tournament

Dunphy
03-12-2014, 11:12 AM
This may be a North Carolina thing, but when I was in school, the teachers would always turn on the ACC tournament in class. Most of the time we didn't do anything but watch the game. At worst, maybe the teacher gave you an easy worksheet to do while watching the game. I went to school in the mountains of North Carolina.

I was just wondering if anyone else had the same experience?

Now I live in DC, but I watch the games by streaming them on my laptop at work. I really don't care when my boss sees me watching, it's what you do this time of year. At least, that's what I learned in school.

Also, it's my first time posting here, so yeah for me.

Matches
03-12-2014, 11:16 AM
Oh yeah, you could count on that most years. Most of my classrooms didn't normally have a TV either - they would bring one in for the occasion.

Even as the ACCT's star has faded over the years, I've found people avoid scheduling anything on that Friday. There's an urban legend that some of the State's judicial agencies go out of their way to schedule a ton of cases on that Friday, so that the parties will resolve them and clear their docket.

Mtn.Devil.91.92.01.10.15
03-12-2014, 11:23 AM
This may be a North Carolina thing, but when I was in school, the teachers would always turn on the ACC tournament in class. Most of the time we didn't do anything but watch the game. At worst, maybe the teacher gave you an easy worksheet to do while watching the game. I went to school in the mountains of North Carolina.

Now I live in DC, but I watch the games by streaming them on my laptop at work. I really don't care when my boss sees me watching, it's what you do this time of year. At least, that's what I learned in school.

Welcome to your post. Also, it was the same thing in Charlotte in the 80's. Never occurred to me that it wasn't that way all over the US. Doesn't everyone stop everything for the ACC Tournament?

hurleyfor3