PDA

View Full Version : Your Most Emotionally Satisfying Duke Wins

awhom111
12-10-2013, 01:13 AM
With the exam break briefly depriving us of Duke sports, I thought this would be interesting topic to explore. Given all of the dramatic moments last month, I thought it would be interesting to look back at some of the memorable Duke victories I have experienced in person or via the magic of broadcast. Here are the 25 that I have come up with and ranked countdown style. 15 of the 25 were during my time at Duke with the other 10 after I graduated. The wins before I arrived, even though I was already a fan, just do not make me quite as emotional as these. 4 were away games and 5 were at neutral sites. I attended 13 of them and 1 of them I followed only by radio with the rest on TV or the internet. 12 of them were against North Carolina and 6 more were ACC opponents at the time of the event. Some of the sports did not lend themselves to this type of emotion even though I have some good memories from both tennis teams and Women's Golf. Oddly enough, I watched a lot of Women's Soccer games, but none of their victories really made the list as their most momentous one during my time at Duke was not one that I followed live. Their senior day victory in 2008 was one of the ones that just missed my list. I hope that Baseball and maybe a few other sports can find their way on the list soon. Which events would be on your lists?

25. Football 34-27 vs Wake Forest, 09/29/12
Based on when I attended Duke, there was plenty of football losing that I experienced. Our games against Wake Forest had a special degree of hurt because we always seemed to lose close games in unusual ways. This game was one of the first moments in that season where I thought that this was the start of something new. The opponent was one that we had to find a way to fight past to get to the next level and we did just that.

24. Football 31-3 vs Virginia, 09/27/08