PDA

View Full Version : Big Shots in Duke BBall History

TKG
12-09-2012, 10:15 AM
I was a freshman sitting just behind the Duke bench when Banks hit the shot against Carolina. The other big shots mentioned were each incredible. However, one shot that I will always remember, and while it did not win the game, probably saved our fannies, was Hurley's 3 against UNLV in the 1991 semis. That might be the greatest shot that did not win a championship in Duke basketball history

Lunchab1es
12-09-2012, 11:05 AM
While it didn't have any big/tournament/historical implications, I was fifth row my freshman year for Sean Dockery's shot against VaTech.

I doubt I will ever experience that again...being surrounded by thousands of people all experiencing simultaneous, ridiculous, jubilation. Many hugs and high fives were given/received to/from people I barely/didn't know.

dukelifer
12-09-2012, 11:51 AM
I was a freshman sitting just behind the Duke bench when Banks hit the shot against Carolina. The other big shots mentioned were each incredible. However, one shot that I will always remember, and while it did not win the game, probably saved our fannies, was Hurley's 3 against UNLV in the 1991 semis. That might be the greatest shot that did not win a championship in Duke basketball history

Banks shot led to K's first win against Dean Smith. A big milestone for a young coach who would have to wait a while for the next one. But the biggest single shot is Laettner's shot against KY.

rthomas
12-09-2012, 11:54 AM
Laettner, Redick and J. Will were all big shots. And shot a lot of them.

hq2
12-10-2012, 08:34 AM
For the record, there are usually about four or five classic shot in Duke history that are always discussed.

1. Laettner's shot - which by the way, when he actually shot it, was a virtual free throw; it was the perfect
throw by G.Hill and catch by Laettner that was the play; once he came down with the ball, it was game over.