PDA

View Full Version : Austin's a Pelican

pfrduke
12-05-2012, 08:54 AM
Or will be starting next season (http://sports.yahoo.com/news/sources--nola-hornets-to-change-nickname-to-pelicans-231227843.html). Nothing strikes fear into the heart of an opponent like a bird with a giant throat (lower beak? I'm not really good with pelican anatomy/physiology).

Farlan
12-05-2012, 09:58 AM
Best thing about this is Charlotte getting the Hornets name back!

dolver
12-05-2012, 10:02 AM
Krewe and Brass are both FAR superior names.

Native
12-05-2012, 10:03 AM

Agree. I'm about as frightened of a Pelican as I am of a Tar Heel.

moonpie23
12-05-2012, 10:08 AM
absolutely the WORST name for a pro team.......ever.......

wonder what the players had to say about it

jimsumner
12-05-2012, 10:42 AM
When Cornwallis occupied Charlotte, he tweeted (or maybe it was a letter) back home that Charlotte was a "hornet's nest of rebellion."

So, it's not just a random nickname. Charlotte has a historic claim on the name and in fact used it for several minor league teams prior to the NBA.

I just wish the NBA would be consistent. Give "Lakers" back to the Land of 10,000 lakes. Let New Orleans, the birthplace of Jazz, reclaim that nickname. Give Grizzlies back to someplace that actually has grizzlies and let Memphis become the Blues.

theAlaskanBear
12-05-2012, 10:43 AM
Personally, I think just about any other name would be better -- Brass would have been what I picked, if I changed it at all. The proposed new colors (picked by the owners wife) are navy blue, red, and gold.

What about the New Orleans "Leveeathans"? Ok, maybe that was in bad taste.

On a more serious note: Louisiana Bayou? New Orleans Creoles?

timmy c
12-05-2012, 10:44 AM

Still can't call the former Bullets team, the Wiz*!&%.

flyingdutchdevil
12-05-2012, 10:46 AM