PDA

View Full Version : Charting Our Defense: Virginia

tommy
01-14-2012, 03:41 AM
I have the charts done on paper, but it's too late and I'm too tired to create them on the computer, but I should get to it tomorrow.

But in watching the game closely and charting it tonight, I watched one guy particularly closely on defense: Andre Dawkins. Why? Because I saw Coach K's comments after the game that this is the best Andre has ever played defensively at Duke and I wanted to zero in on what K was referring to, because I hadn't thought that when I first watched the game.

I know there sometimes may be small nuances that I'm not seeing. I'm not a professional. But I've played and watched a lot of ball over the last 30 years of my life. And I watched Andre closely, on-ball and off, and wrote down everything I saw of consequence, with a time stamp. Here's what I've got:

1st half:

1309 (time): UVA gets an offensive board, the rebounder has it on the left side maybe 10' from the hoop. Andre's man cuts into the lane from the weak side, to the hoop. Andre's head was turned, not watching his man, he saw the cut way too late, trailed his man into the lane where he caught the pass for an easy layup.

1000: Andre had Scott on a switch, loses sight of him as another UVA player has the ball in the corner. Scott cuts to the hoop, receives an easy pass in the lane, and misses the shot.

537: Good ball pressure from Andre, far outside, but his man keeps his dribble, and ultimately beats Dre into the lane. Mason's help comes, but the driver simply dishes to Scott, who Andre picks up, but Scott takes one dribble into the lane and shoots right over Andre (who did put a hand in his face at least) and scores.

513: On the very next play Andre is beaten for a back door dunk. Granted, Miles failed to help, but still.

445: Good job by Andre staying in front up high. Good pressure applied.