PDA

View Full Version : Devonta Pollard's mom yanks him from AAU game.

magjayran
07-16-2011, 01:26 AM
The article says that Duke has some interest in him. If I was a head coach I might not want to deal with an overbearing parent like that. Could be another LDII situation.

Seattledukie
07-16-2011, 11:19 AM
I've got a son in AAU and I've seen things that are not pretty, especially overbearing coaches and parents. I'm not saying she's right but before we judge the woman's actions let's be sure we understand her motivations.

jimsumner
07-16-2011, 12:10 PM
The article says that Duke has some interest in him. If I was a head coach I might not want to deal with an overbearing parent like that. Could be another LDII situation.

Or you might not want to have to deal with the kind of kid who would need to be pulled by a parent.

Earlier this summer Pollard claimed to have a scholarship offer from Duke. Turned out Duke had informed him that they would be looking at him this summer. Not exactly the same thing.

I've heard nothing since to suggest that Pollard is a priority target for Duke. This sure can't help.

magjayran
07-16-2011, 01:05 PM
I've got a son in AAU and I've seen things that are not pretty, especially overbearing coaches and parents. I'm not saying she's right but before we judge the woman's actions let's be sure we understand her motivations.

The article says that he had made two mistakes in a row on the floor. The article also says he came back and played very well. If I was a big time coach I'd have to have a long conversation with the mom before I continued to pursue her son.

Jim3k
07-16-2011, 03:31 PM
The article says that he had made two mistakes in a row on the floor. The article also says he came back and played very well. If I was a big time coach I'd have to have a long conversation with the mom before I continued to pursue her son.