PDA

View Full Version : JJ's not the only poet

jennybee
02-17-2011, 02:18 PM
Hi All: Long time reader, first time poster here. Not sure if this is appropriate, but Deadspin linked to NC State’s C.J. Leslie’s Valentine’s Day Poem today. I found it....amusing.

http://deadspin.com/#!5763288

Also, since it is my first time posting, just wanted to say thanks for being there DBR. How would I get through my days without you!

BlueDevilBaby
02-17-2011, 04:40 PM
Poor JJ is taking a beating lately, having been juked to floor twice recently and then named by ESPN Page 2 as one of the 25 dorkiest athletes in history - just because he writes poetry and went to Duke. Page 2 seems to think many Duke Bball players are dorky. Good thing they did not include Patrick, Nate or Christian in the Duke list.

weezie
02-17-2011, 04:58 PM
NC State’s C.J. Leslie’s Valentine’s Day Poem

How very charming. I'm sure his family is thrilled.

DevilWearsPrada
02-17-2011, 06:24 PM
I like JJ's poetry Better.

How in the world, did CJ's class assignment get online, and make its way to DBR? lol

cato
02-17-2011, 06:55 PM
Having participated in many poetry workshops at Duke, and edited a literary magazine, I can assure you that Leslie's (if it's his) poetry is actually pretty good (and even tasteful) compared to some of the stuff college kids turn out.

HK Dukie
02-20-2011, 04:10 AM
Actually that was a pretty funny poem. You gotta give it an A.

Much much better than poor Blake...

" Johnny Rockets, a restaurant that brings people happiness."

"One thing I do like is that you get a good amount of a chocolate shake if you order one."

"Like the movie Afluenza, people expect good service and good food from the big food chains, but once the get the service they are not satisfied. At Johnny Rockets your expectations are met"

" I think the chrome makes things look good."

Lord Ash
02-21-2011, 12:28 AM