PDA

View Full Version : Breaking: Stephen Strasburg to have Tommy John Surgery

MisterRoddy
08-27-2010, 10:51 AM
http://www.masnsports.com/the_goessling_game/2010/08/stephen-strasburg-will-need-tommy-john-surgery.html

Devastating news for the young pitching prodigy that has a torn ulnar collateral ligament and will likely need Tommy John Surgery.

I pray this kid comes back full force. Being a Cubs fan (Prior, Wood), I know all too well about injuries derailing the careers of pitching phenoms. Hope this ends differently.

muzikfrk75
08-27-2010, 11:02 AM
Bad bad luck for the kid...

MChambers
08-27-2010, 12:13 PM
Bad bad luck for the kid...

As the Nats' GM pointed out, the two pitchers who started the Nat's game last night have had the surgery and returned. As a DC resident, I'm choosing to be optimistic.

InSpades
08-27-2010, 12:34 PM
The whole thing kind of reminds me of Francisco Liriano to be honest.... young guy comes up in the middle of the season. Throws lights out, dominates hitters. Soon thereafter has arm troubles and it leads to Tommy John surgery. Liriano has never really been the same since then (though he's having a better season this year, he's nowhere near as dominant as he once was). Hopefully Strasburg can regain his form.

JBDuke
08-27-2010, 12:40 PM
Thanks for the news, although as a Nats fan, this really hurts. The management had been so careful with Strasburg this year - really treating him with kid gloves in the hopes of avoiding any injury from the stepped up workload of becoming a professional pitcher. And now this.

BlueDevilBaby
08-27-2010, 01:21 PM
As a Nats season ticket holder, I am totally bummed. What is it with this franchise and their pitchers? There have got to be 20+ pitchers since 2005 that have been injured or required surgery. Seems to be a much higher rate of injury for this team than the rest of the league. Oh well, guess I will patiently wait for 2012. Maybe Harper will be in the show by then.