PDA

View Full Version : ACC Tourney game Fri 11 am Chicago -- places to watch

peblnh8
03-11-2010, 09:45 AM
Hey all,

I'm an 09 graduate, a long time reader, and a first time poster.

I'm flying to Chicago today to hang out with some friends for the weekend, but unfortunately they will be working during the day tomorrow, so I don't really have a place to watch the game.

Surely somebody on this message board has a recommendation. Perhaps even a crowd of people to watch the game with? From what I've seen through months of reading, there is nothing unknown to the fine people that hang out around here :-)

Best,
Phil

ChicagoCrazy84
03-11-2010, 10:09 AM
Not sure where you're going to be, but I'd go to Sedgwick's. I have never been there myself, but supposedly it is a Duke bar. It's at North and Sedgwick, off the Sedgwick stop on the brown line. There's also some good places near Wrigley Field (Addison red line) that are great NCAA basketball bars.

LetItBD08
03-11-2010, 10:37 AM
Yeah, I'd bet Sedgwick's will have the game and probably some Duke fans. You can get off at the Armitage stop on the Brown or Purple line and walk along Armitage for about 5-10 minutes until you reach the intersection between Armitage, Sedgwick, and Lincoln.

peblnh8
03-11-2010, 10:38 AM
http://www.sedgwickschicago.com/dukealumni.html sounds good!

I'm staying... I dont know the 'lingo' but it's what I'd describe as downtown. pretty close to the split in the river.

oakroom
03-11-2010, 10:44 AM
When I lived in Chicago, we watched a lot of games at Brother Jimmy's (http://maps.google.com/maps?hl=en&client=firefox-a&hs=Ki5&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&um=1&ie=UTF-8&q=chicago+barbecue+restaurants&fb=1&gl=us&hq=barbecue+restaurants&hnear=chicago&view=text&ei=oQ6ZS46NIpCYtgfFuO2wCQ&sa=X&oi=local_group&ct=more-results&resnum=1&ved=0CB0QtwMwAA). Their barbecue is nothing special, but they are ACC friendly.

It's been 8 yrs + since I've been there, so maybe someone has more recent info.

Mal