PDA

View Full Version : Themes for Huck's Year - Wigs and Blue Hose

Cackalacky Devil
03-05-2010, 05:20 PM
Fellow Defenders of the House, I'm compelled to make my first post after years of enjoying from a distance. As background, I'm a Duke grad and Duke parent, and I've had season tickets since the late '80s.

I confess I'm very surprised by the relative absence on this Board of pre-game revelry, humor and exchange of (tasteless) anecdotes about the opposing coach, especially given the wonderful material with which we've been blessed this year. The season record speaks for itself, but as a Charleston resident, I'm proud to remind you about the great January win by CofC over the 9th ranked Holes, complete with Cremins wigs, and the incredulous, arrogant, condescending looks on the faces of the many Hole fans behind the bench as time was winding down. The looks have disappeared these days, but the arrogance is still there. Somehow their plan to enjoy my beautiful city and catch a little exhibition game in the process went terribly awry. I'm convinced that game was when Roid realized what was about to happen to his season.

Yet perhaps the most heart warming event this year had to be the embarassing meltdown Huck experienced, back turned to the action, at the hands of a single, defenseless Blue Hose fan with the Holes up by ~30. That single incident was ample evidence that our suspicions have been right all along. So c'mon folks. Let's reminisce, with unbridled sarcasm and parody.

And by the way, if any students are interested in props, I have several CofC and Prebyterian t-shirts. If you can convince me you'll wear them within eye-shot of Dizzy, they're yours. See you Satursday!

Go Devils

Indoor66
03-05-2010, 05:31 PM
Please, not another UNC thread. Enough is enough.

Cackalacky Devil
03-05-2010, 05:39 PM
Must have missed those. Like I said, "from a distance."

Duvall
03-05-2010, 05:41 PM

Yes, we should focus on Duke's next opponent instead.

wallyman