PDA

View Full Version : My predicament: how would you rank these cities?

prefan21
02-01-2010, 02:21 AM
Hey guys!

I'm a 2005 Duke grad in a unique position. I have three weeks to rank my preferences before I'm relocated to a new job. Unfortunately, I've hardly spent any time in these cities! :eek:

I'm a 27-year-old single guy, so I'd prefer a city with a social scene where I can meet someone. And in a tie, I tend to like warm weather, but I'm generally pretty open. The pay is scaled to each place's cost of living.

Here are my options:

Charleston, SC
Jacksonville, FL
New Orleans
NYC
Philadelphia
Phoenix
St. Louis
Tampa
VA Beach / Norfolk
Washington, DC

If you're familiar with some of these cities... what do I need to know? How do they compare? And which places would you rank highest (or lowest)?

Any help would be amazing. Thanks, DBR! :D

DukeUsul
02-01-2010, 09:16 AM
Cue a throaty post on each city's mass transit infrastructure....

I don't really have too much experience with these cities, other than NYC, Philly and DC. I'm partial to philly, since I grew up in its suburbs. I LOVED the six weeks I lived in downtown DC, but if you can't afford that, it kinda sucks to be a single 20-something in the DC burbs.

NYC is just too much for me.

BlueDevilBaby
02-01-2010, 09:30 AM
Cue a throaty post on each city's mass transit infrastructure....

I don't really have too much experience with these cities, other than NYC, Philly and DC. I'm partial to philly, since I grew up in its suburbs. I LOVED the six weeks I lived in downtown DC, but if you can't afford that, it kinda sucks to be a single 20-something in the DC burbs.

NYC is just too much for me.

Why would you say it sucks in the burbs? I've lived in Arlington, VA and worked in DC for over 20 years now and love it. To each's own.

Indoor66
02-01-2010, 09:32 AM
Way too little information on needs, necessities and wants in the original post to make a meaningful response.

CrazyNotCrazie
02-01-2010, 09:57 AM