PDA

View Full Version : "OVERRATED!" Chant Revolution

KYtotheCore
11-01-2009, 09:20 PM
Hey gang,

This isn't directed at Duke specifically, it's really more of just a call to revolution for all fans of sports to discontinue the "overrated" chant at ballgames.

Please consider; if (your team name here) beats a team assigned a higher ranking than yours and the fans start to chant "overrated", isn't that the fans basically saying "we're proud that we just beat a team we already deemed inferior to us!"

Maybe it's me . . . but why is that something a truly superior team would voice as noteable? Shouldn't it go without saying?

Please pass it on.

ice-9
11-01-2009, 09:32 PM
Kentucky = OVERRATED clap clap clapclapclap! :p

But seriously, I don't think this chant has ever been endorsed by the crazies. I remember when I was an undergrad the one or two times a newb tried to start it the vets quickly squashed it.

My favorite memory of this chant...2001 at Maryland. With less than 2 minutes to go and the twerps up double digits, the crowd starting jeering us on national tv as overrated. Fools! 56 seconds later, this led to the greatest comeback in duke history. Don't see the twerps using this chant on us any more. :)

CameronBornAndBred
11-01-2009, 09:34 PM
Kentucky = OVERRATED clap clap clapclapclap! :p

But seriously, I don't think this chant has ever been endorsed by the crazies. I remember when I was an undergrad the one or two times someone tried to start it the veteran crazies quickly squashed it.

My favorite memory of this chant...2001 at Maryland. With less than 2 minutes to go and the twerps up double digits, the crowd starting jeering us national tv with chants of overrated. 56 seconds later, as they say, is history. :)
I've seen it used in Cameron for players..but not for teams. (It was fun to hear during Shaq's visit).

LetItBD08
11-01-2009, 10:14 PM
isn't that the fans basically saying "we're proud that we just beat a team we already deemed inferior to us!"