PDA

View Full Version : Sociology Major

Sandman
10-29-2009, 05:15 PM
Just read the following comment to the headlined Recruiting Rules Changes article:

"I am eagerly awaiting the proposal from these moral paragons about academic reforms. I'm sure Coach Cal, Bob Huggins, and Coach K (yes you too, coach K. I know why so many of your players major in sociology) will be demanding that players go to class, stop taking Jim Harrick classes, and stop majoring in basket-weaving. These coaches are making a statement, and that statement is: "No to shadiness that makes coaching harder, but yes to shadiness that makes coaching easier." Not hypocritical at all. And way to call them out for being huge hypocrites, ESPN. I'm sure Dickie V will be grilling coach cal about his atrocious academic standards during the very first UK game that ESPN covers."

I have read other similar snide comments about Duke players taking "basket weaving" type Sociology courses, and I am curious. When I studied engineering at Duke, a few easy electives was something eagerly sought by most of us, but I don't remember Sociology as having a reputation for having "crip courses".

Has this changed? Is Sociology now in the "basket weaving" category? Or is this just "academic penis envy" from the Duke haters out there? I would appreciate comments from those with knowledge of the current state of Duke academics.

speedevil2001
10-29-2009, 05:18 PM
Just read the following comment to the headlined Recruiting Rules Changes article: