PDA

View Full Version : BOG lasted past Herman Veal

Bostondevil
10-15-2009, 08:03 AM
Uhm, what? BOG wasn't disbanded as a result of the Herman Veal incident. The incident caused the introduction of a 'buffer zone' between the BOGgers and the visitors' bench but they were still going strong when I graduated (a couple of years after the Veal brouhaha.)

CameronBornAndBred
10-15-2009, 08:11 AM
I had to refresh my memory about Veal, and found this article...it's a break down of the top 10 Crazie antics, often with inside insight from Jay Bilas.
http://espn.go.com/page2/s/cameron/hits.html

It's hilarious to read.

JBDuke
10-15-2009, 08:25 AM
The OP is correct, and DBR is wrong. BOG continued throughout the 80's, and were significant leaders in Cameron during my stay late in the decade. IIRC, BOG was disbanded due to repeated and excessive damages to their dorm and repeated violations of the alcohol policy. Conspiracy theorists abound that getting rid of BOG was part of the gentrification of Duke under Brodie and Keohane...

OZZIE4DUKE
10-15-2009, 09:12 AM
Uhm, what? BOG wasn't disbanded as a result of the Herman Veal incident. The incident caused the introduction of a 'buffer zone' between the BOGgers and the visitors' bench but they were still going strong when I graduated (a couple of years after the Veal brouhaha.)
Um, Bostondevil, you, of all people, should know that the buffer zone wasn't created because of BOG in the 80's, but because of Phi Psi (and others, probably including BOG) in the 70's! :eek:I remember the game when our opponent brought the JV football team to sit behind the team and in front of us. We sat in the fourth row. :cool:

Bostondevil
10-15-2009, 09:20 AM
Then the Veal incident caused an expansion of the buffer zone. There was definitely a buffer zone reaction to the Veal incident.

msdukie
10-15-2009, 09:24 AM
I believe the last BOGGERS were the class of 1994, my freshman year.

phillyheel
10-15-2009, 09:36 AM