PDA

View Full Version : Art Heyman Article

Verga3
09-04-2009, 06:52 PM
DBR has warmed our hearts again with a nostalgic look back at one of our all-time player/characters from a great Duke era. SI writing was brilliant in those days. This should be a required historical reading for all Duke basketball fans.

I remember fragments of the "fight" game, but this piece adds plenty of texture. Would love to hear some comments from anyone that was there.
http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/vault/article/magazine/MAG1072316/1/index.htm

dukepsy1963
09-05-2009, 05:39 PM
I was a sophomore. It was an ugly time for the UNC-Duke rivalry.

I remember feeling sick on my stomach after the "fighting" calmed down. I could not believe that fans and players (both sides) could be so childish and stupid.

Basketball should make you feel good. It didn't that night.

The piece from SI brings it all back again.

heyman25
09-06-2009, 07:18 PM
We could use some Art Heyman like players at Duke. In clutch time,you need guys like him oozing with confidence. Kyle could bring that this year I hope.

dukeman28428
09-06-2009, 08:14 PM
I was at the Duke/Carolina game when Larry Brown and Art had the unfortunate incident. In my opinion, Art has taken the heat for this and it is not deserved. Clearly to me, Larry Brown started the mess and other circumstances led to intimidate Heyman and he had right to defend himself. In no way do I condone any such activities. But I am an Art Heyman fan as he was one of the earliest and greatest of the Duke players and I admire him for what he did for Duke basketball.

Verga3
09-06-2009, 09:11 PM
I didn't realize that DBR has a treasure-trove of anecdotes and first-person accounts of Bubas-era players and games posted a couple of years ago, including the Heyman-Brown "fight" game in 1961......I didn't do my research. http://www.dukebasketballreport.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5611&highlight=heyman+brown+fight&page=4