PDA

View Full Version : Why I am a proud Duke fan

Charlieyca
04-23-2009, 09:51 AM
Im a high school teacher and basketball coach in Wilmington, NC. On Tuesday night the Barnstorming Tour composed of UNC and Duke seniors played the high school seniors from our county. I had the honor of coaching the high school guys. I use the word coaching lightly because my only job was to sub and make sure every from each school got equal playing time.
As much as i enjoyed the floor seat something stood out to me that i wanted to share with all the duke faithful. After the game, David Mcclure reminded me why I am a duke fan. As I walked into our team locker room the UNC players were all leaving the locker room very quickly heading to the bus. My girlfriend and I alone asked the carolina players if they had time to sign the actual gameball (sorry she is a UNC fan). Without a response they kept walking. Let it be noted, this was not a mob of people trying to get autographs, but one guy asking for one autograph.
After starting to wash our game jerseys i hear a knock at the door and to my surprise David Mcclure needed to come change. He was the only player to stay on the court after the game and sign autographs. In the lockerroom he took pictures with both me and my girlfriend, signed one duke basketball and then offered to sign more. As I offered to give him some privacy i was once again shocked as he asked me how our season had went.
I know not every player in the Duke program can be represented by David Mcclure and vice versa with the UNC guys representing their program, but David Mcclure IS what duke basketball is all about. Players like Dave, not wins or championships, is why i am a Blue Devil.

allenmurray
04-23-2009, 10:02 AM