PDA

View Full Version : going to my first women's game in 15 years...what do I need to know?

bjornolf
02-22-2009, 06:41 AM
Hey all. I'm embarrassed to admit that I have just not been able to get into the women's team recently. I went to a few of their games when I was a student at Duke, and they were fine, but I was never able to get as excited as I was for men's games, and on TV, I was never able to get even vaguely interested. They just bore me for some reason. I hate to admit that, but there it is.

Anyway, my mom, who played point guard in high school 50 years ago, suddenly got a wild hair to go to the Duke v. Maryland game tonight. She's confined to a wheelchair, and dad recently fell and REALLY messed up his back, so I offered to take her. Assuming there's any college park left to go to tonight after last night's upset of UNC, can one of the team's fans tell me what I need to know about this team and game? Who are our players to watch? Terp players to watch? How good are we this year? How good are the Lady Terps? Should this be a good game? All I really know are their respective records and that they are both top 10. I can look at stats and stuff, but that doesn't tell you the whole story, does it? If I just looked at stats, I'd never realize how important Dave McClure is to the men's team.

Also, to anyone who's been to a game at Maryland, can I wear some duke swag, or are the fans as bad as the men's fans? Maybe there won't be many, as they'll all still be partying from the men's game. That would be nice. Or maybe they'll show up MORE tonight, smelling blood after last night. Be interesting to see.

Thanks for any help,
Joe

miramar
02-22-2009, 10:20 AM
The fans for women's games are usually a little more civilized, so I don't think they will throw batteries at you if you have some Dukewear. But you never know. As I recall even Nate's uncle the Marine had problems.