PDA

View Full Version : Duke in the media after last night

somf4eva
02-05-2009, 08:00 PM
I dont post much, mostly because I love to read everyone's comments and im not that good at spitting out stats, but there has been something that really is getting at me today.

This afternoon on PTI and Around the Horn, the Duke/Clemson game was discussed.

Just now on ESPN, the duke loss was referred to as a thumping, but the Wake Forest loss was just a loss.

Why is this? Duke lost to Clemson who was a ranked team at #10. Miami was unranked and beat WF by the same amount.

What gives? Am I missing something?

sagegrouse
02-05-2009, 08:13 PM
I dont post much, mostly because I love to read everyone's comments and im not that good at spitting out stats, but there has been something that really is getting at me today.

This afternoon on PTI and Around the Horn, the Duke/Clemson game was discussed.

Just now on ESPN, the duke loss was referred to as a thumping, but the Wake Forest loss was just a loss.

Why is this? Duke lost to Clemson who was a ranked team at #10. Miami was unranked and beat WF by the same amount.

What gives? Am I missing something?

A Duke loss always ranks higher on the Richter Scale than a (who?) Wake Forest loss. From this year back to 1997, when Duncan and Childress graduated, Wake has been mediocre.

How long has it been since Duke lost a game this badly? Against UCLA on National TV in the annus horribilis of 1995? Against UNC in 1998 (Duke's only conference loss)? This is a "man bites dog" story.

Take it as a compliment.

sagegrouse

rockymtn devil
02-05-2009, 08:22 PM
A Duke loss always ranks higher on the Richter Scale than a (who?) Wake Forest loss. From this year back to 1997, when Duncan and Childress graduated, Wake has been mediocre.

How long has it been since Duke lost a game this badly? Against UCLA on National TV in the annus horribilis of 1995? Against UNC in 1998 (Duke's only conference loss)? This is a "man bites dog" story.