PDA

View Full Version : Whoa

Lord Ash
03-27-2007, 04:52 PM
Hey all,

Sorry I have to share this story; just struck home.

I am an elementary school teacher in northern NJ who lives in Manhattan. I was driving back home after work around 4:30 or so on Friday, on Route 4 east coming right up to the George Washington Bridge. I had just passed the Hess station I stop to by seltzer at when there was a sudden flash of brake lights... I slowed almost to a stop to avoid a car that had braked hard in the right lane and moved left to avoid him. As I went around him at a crawl I looked back and saw a guy lying face down on the pavement next to the highway, with a swarthy gentleman kneeling beside him, his hand on him, and some people walking over talking on their cell phones. Clearly he had just been hit; one of his shoes was off and in the shoulder. I didn't stop, as I am certainly not a doctor and can't help more than the 10 or so people who were there, but called a friend; we both talked about it a bit (he was a rescue worker on 9/11) and how fragile human life is and all of that; I remember saying "Man I hope the guy is okay... but people who are okay don't lie like that..."

Today he called me and said "Uh... I think that guy you saw was the UNC mascot."

I am trying to figure out exactly where it happened, but I think it was; right on Route 4 in the parking lot of the Cheap beer depot and next to a large hotel, the Hilton.

So anyway... this story, which was already somewhat personal in that it was UNC, got more personal:(

Anyway. Just had to share.

throatybeard
03-27-2007, 07:34 PM
Wow.

In 2002, I saw a guy on a small motorcycle get hit by a car, sideswiped, on I-40 eastbound, near the Harrison exit in north Cary. I won't describe the sickening details, but he and the bike got separated from each other to say the least.

I always wondered what happened. I didn't see anything in the News & Observer in the following days.

Lord Ash
03-27-2007, 08:28 PM