PDA

View Full Version : Free blogging website recommendations?

sue71, esq
07-26-2008, 10:23 PM
I'm thinking about creating a blog- something more for me & I'm not sure I'd ever put it out there publicly. Maybe I would, but I'm thinking of it as more of an online journal for myself. Clearly, keeping it private would be an issue, at least up front.

Does anyone have any recommendations on free blog sites? I looked at blogger, wordpress, & typepad, but I'm so not up on blogs and therefore I don't know one from the other. Any thoughts on which would be good for a total blogging novice?

Thanks,
Sue

YmoBeThere
07-27-2008, 06:14 AM
I have had the same question for some time, I'm glad someone else has put it up here. Unfortunately, no answers yet.

brevity
07-27-2008, 01:20 PM
I'm not an expert on the subject, but maybe you don't need an expert. I've used Blogger for a little over 3 years and have had no recent complaints. (The first year had some kinks, but they've made it easier to use since then.)

It's fairly easy to start, and (for the most part) you can adjust whatever settings you like at any time. So you're not stuck with one kind of display or anything.

And if you don't feel like publicizing your blog, you don't have to. Web surfers would only come across it if your site pops up in a search query, or if they're extremely bored and keep hitting "Next Blog" to pick random blogs to visit, and yours comes up. Even then, you can disable comments.

I believe you can also restrict access, in case you want to limit your readership to family members or something.

Ben63
07-27-2008, 01:42 PM
I might suggest Live Journal. My cousin used it a few years ago when she was in China and only her family and friends saw what she wrote. The site says it can be public or maximum security, so it might be worth a look.

Indoor66
07-27-2008, 01:49 PM