Thread: San Antonio

San Antonio

I'm going to Houston in a few weeks (oh, joy) to visit my lady in her summer digs as she interns. We are planning on spending some time in San Antonio over the weekend. We won't have long, just a night or two, but I know that there's supposed to be lots of cool stuff there. I understand the Riverwalk is basically a can't-miss, but really crowded on the weekends...does it live up to the hype? What about restaurants...eat at the Riverwalk, or elsewhere? Also, any thoughts on the Alamo? As at least some of you know, I'm a professional history nerd, so at least part of me would be mad at myself if I didn't go...but is it a good site? Finally, any other recommendations of places to go, see, eat, stay (cheap ones!), etc.?

Also, I wouldn't hate taking a day trip to the Galveston area while I'm there. Is there anything cool to do on or around the bay, or would it just be a sit-on-the-beach kind of thing (not that that's bad)?

by all means, go to the Alamo. River Walk area is great--take a boat tour at night if you can. The old market area is worth going to. There is a eating place that is also a bakery there. Great food and drinks. The place we stayed in is on the River Walk--rather pricey--price goes down as you go away from the "river". We did a walking tour of an historical housing area that was great--stop at the info place across the street from the Alamo, they will help you.